Week 4 – Low Fat Panna Cotta

DSC_1098

DSC_1063

I have never tried Panna cotta before, a dessert with only cream, I know, so I wanted to stay away from that stuff. It’s another story all together that I mostly end up eating all other kinds of dessert I cook, most of the time all by myself.

DSC_1087

I was inspired by seeing Donna Hay’s show and she used 1/2 portion cream and other half buttermilk to make this panna cotta, nevertheless I had to try it out. This version is really yummy and eh maybe slightly low is calories, very professional feeling dessert, like the ones you get in restaurants.

This is my modified version where I used “Lassi”. I think the same can be substituted with equal quantity of curd/yougurt, slightly beaten and sweetness adjusted to your liking, I like mine very mild in sugar.

DSC_1099

DSC_1090

DSC_1032

DSC_1041

DSC_1060

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Low Fat Panna Cotta

Recipe Adapted from Donna Hay

Ingredients
3/4 cup cream,
1 and 1/4 cup lassi or yogurt (slightly beaten)
1 tsp gelatin powder
1/4 cup sugar (use less or more as per your liking, you can adjust it during the last stage of cooking)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

to top
Diced fruits, Donna Hay used Passion Fruit, I used strawberry, or can use blueberries, orange segments, or any other fruit you might fancy
1 tsp icing sugar

Method
Soak the gelatin in 1 tbsp of cold water, let it stand for 5 mins.
Meanwhile gently heat the cream, add sugar, and bring it to a gentle boil.
Add the gelatin and remove it from heat, stirring just for a minute till gelatin is completely dissolved.
Pour the beaten lassi or yogurt if using and stir through, add the vanilla extract.
Pour it in moulds of your liking or simply use small glasses and cover with cling film. I used Bonne Maman jars so I just replaced the lids before placing it in the fridge.
Let it set in fridge for atleast 4 hours till firm (I set it quickly by putting it in the freezer for an hour or till it felt firm)
Meanwhile drizzle icing sugar to diced fruit and top your panna cotta before serving.
You can either unmould the panna cotta or serve it as it as in the glass topped with diced fruits.
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

DSC_1092

2 thoughts on “Week 4 – Low Fat Panna Cotta

  1. Pingback: Week 23 – Panna Cotta with Mangoes « iJuhi Photography

Leave a Reply

