Day 125.365 – My Country Home

May 5

We built a house in 2007 in a small town in rural Bihar. We needed some place after my father retired, so my mom and me designed the whole house from scratch and my mom supervised the complete construction. Since so much of effort was involved it’s very dear to me and even more to my mom. My mom loves staying here, and spends most months of year here. I love this place as a vacation stay and unfortunately haven’t spend much time here in last 4 years. This though I want to change in coming years and would like to spend more time here.

My ideal thing to do would be to go across in the fields (which is like 100mts from my house) take a aisle and start to paint the rural countryside. I was not so lucky this time and owing to my busy schedule could only spend a couple of days here.

We have a small garden within the campus and several fruit trees including lemon, mangoes and litchi. My mom has personally tendered to all these trees. It would be an excellent place in winter especially with wheat and mustard fields all over engulfed with the fog. Can’t wait to photograph that. Hoping to visit again during winters.

Litchi tree at home

DSC_0413

DSC_0414

This tree is not from my house, but these had almost ripe litchis

DSC_0391

DSC_0390

Vintage finds at home. I scavenged everything around my house and picked up lots of things which are there from my childhood, pretty nostalgic. I have seen this tin box around my house since I was very young. I wanted to get so many things back to Bangalore but unfortunately couldn’t get everything.

DSC_0334

DSC_0320

My mom has stacks of juice set, teaset and so many more, again so difficult to transfer them back. But I did manage to do a quick session of watermelon juice at home. I love this glass jug.

DSC_0349

DSC_0348

DSC_0353

DSC_0360

Another vintage find, all these pictures were taken in my backyard

DSC_0525

Another vintage find, these wooden bowls are there from my childhood. I took all these sessions in my backyard in the backdrop of the lemon tree.

DSC_0266

DSC_0312

I love this distressed stool, this is again from ages which was painted, repainted several times. I so badly wanted to bring this back, but couldn’t 😦

DSC_0286

DSC_0314

DSC_0317

DSC_0277

DSC_0269

DSC_0280

DSC_0272

DSC_0274

I found this wooden slab thrown in the yard, I atleast managed to get this. So you would be seeing more of this in my photographs

DSC_0297

DSC_0289

DSC_0290

DSC_0300

DSC_0307

And finally I went to this corn field just behind my house with my cousins during sunset time. I took some portraits of my cousins and this lovely corn field, what a finish to the day.

DSC_0501

DSC_0483

DSC_0462

DSC_0505

DSC_0499

DSC_0497

DSC_0461

DSC_0503

DSC_0516

Leave a Reply

